K.R. Gowri Amma was born 14 July 1919 in  Pattanakad, in Alappuzha district. Gowri father is K.A.Raman and mother Parvathi. Gowri studied in schools in Thiroor and Cherthala, and graduated from Maharajas College, Ernakulam. Gowri Amma then pursued her degree of law from Law College, Ernakulam. K.R.Gowri Amma is the founder of Janathipathiya Samrakshana Samithy JSS and has actively participated in the Communist Movement of Kerala.

K.R.Gowri Amma’s elder brother Sukumaran was an active member of the Communist party and she joined the party under his influence. Gowri was elected at the Travancore Council of Legislative Assembly in 1953 and 1954 with vast majority. In 1957, Gowri became Revenue minister in the first E.M.S. Namboodiripad, Ministry and administered the first land reforms bill. In 1957, she married T. V. Thomas, a fellow minister and CPI member. As a result of her expulsion from the CPI in 1994 on charges of anti-party activities Gowri established a new political party called Janadipathya Samrakshana Samithi JSS.

Following which, Gowri established a new political outfit named Janadipathya Samrakshana Samithi JSS and joined the Congress-led United Democratic Front, which for years she opposed when she was in the CPI-M. Gowri was made a minister in the A.K. Antony cabinet in May 2001. Gowri became a minister again when Oommen Chandy took over from Antony as chief minister. K.R.Gowri Amma holds the record of sitting 16,345 days in the Kerala assembly and winning 12 assembly elections in Kerala, Gowri lost just once in 1977 polls. As a legislator of Kerala Assembly Gowri Amma has completed 50 years. She held the office as a minister six times.

K.R.Gowri Amma has been associated with numerous social and political movements:

  • President of Kerala Karshaka Sangam in the year 1960 to 1984.
  • President of Kerala Mahila Sangam  in the year 1967 to 1976.
  • Secretary of Kerala Mahila Sangam in the year 1976 to 1987.
  • Secretariat Member of CPI State Committee.
  • Established the Janathipathiya Samrakshana Samithy    JSS, in 1994.
  • General Secretary of Janathipathiya Samrakshana Samithy.